Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The Black Pig, Dublin, Spanish Food, Spanish Shops Dublin, Dublin Foodies, Food Blogs, Irish Food Blogs, Irish Food Bloggers, Spain, Morehampton Road, Dublin 4

I’m a big fan of Spanish food and one of my favourite shops to pop into when I’m nearby is The Black Pig on Morehampton Road.  It’s been open for a couple of years and it is hands down the best place to go if you are looking for all things Spanish, but especially if you love Spanish wine.

The Black Pig, Dublin, Spanish Food, Spanish Shops Dublin, Dublin Foodies, Food Blogs, Irish Food Blogs, Irish Food Bloggers, Spain, Morehampton Road, Dublin 4, Spanish Wine, Spanish Cheese, Iberico Pork,

They stock a huge range of excellent Spanish wines, as well as plenty of cured meats, cheeses and many other essential Spanish ingredients.  They even have a cigar fridge thingy, although I have no interest in cigars but you might, so I’m mentioning it anyway.

20140326-192119.jpg

I popped in today and took a few pics, although the owner assured me that he was getting lots of stuff in tomorrow so these pics won’t do the shop justice.   My favourite things to get here during the summer are some chorizo or other delicious Iberico sliced meats, some manchego or even another more obscure sheeps cheese, and some excellent Spanish wine to wash it all down!  But you can pretend it’s summer any time by treating yourself here.

20140326-191945.jpg

I’m no wine expert but the owner will always give you some advice, depending on your tastes and budget.  One of my favourite reds from last summer was a very light red from Extremadura that went very well with a chorizo and hake recipe that I love to make.

20140326-191911.jpg

They have a wide selection that you won’t find anywhere else, and it ranges in price too.  I also make a point to always get some of their excellent chicken stock cubes as they are best ones I’ve found anywhere.  They also sell things like olive oil, vinegars, pork lard, paella rice and proper tins of tuna.

20140326-191957.jpg

As you can see, they have so many wines here, most of them I’ve never heard of before, which is always exciting to me!  If you love Spanish food, drop in and peruse the shelves, you will no doubt find something new to try.

 

The Black Pig,

95b Morehampton Road

Donnybrook

Dublin 4

Tel: +353 1 667 4828

Website: blackpig.ie

Twitter: @BlackPigWine

Facebook: facebook.com/blackpigwines

