Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Green Beards Juicery, Ranelagh, Raw Foods, Raw Juice, Cold Pressed Juice, Organic Juice, Organic Food, Organic Food Dublin, Organic Food Ireland, Wheatgrass, Ranelagh, Lovin Dublin, Juice Bar Dublin, Recently I heard about an organic, cold pressed raw juice shop via Emma Kenneally’s post on Lovin Dublin and my ears pricked up.  To be honest I haven’t jumped on the juicing bandwagon up until now for various reasons.  One being that raw kale seems to be ubiquitous in these cold pressed juices, and because I have the misfortune to have an under-active thyroid, I try to avoid foods like raw kale and other raw brassicas because they are known goitrogens, or thryoid function inhibitors.  You hear all sorts of horror stories online about people living off a raw kale diet and therby killing off their poor thyroid gland by accident!

The other reason I have avoided the juice fad, is that I was somewhat sceptical of juicing as a method of food preparation, since it removes most of the fibre from the plant.  But on the other hand, I understand the benefits, as it makes the end result easier on your digestion and supposedly delivers more nutrients into your system, plus raw food has all its enzymes intact, as they haven’t been destroyed by heat.

But I digress!  Anyway last week when I read Emma’s huge thumbs up for Green Beards raw, organic, cold pressed juices, I decided to track them down and try them for myself.  Unlike many of the juices on sale elsewhere , these ones are all organic and cold-pressed, which has to be a good thing.  I spent far too long cycling around the streets of Ranelagh with Google Maps leading me on a magical mystery tour before I finally found the store on Dunville Avenue.

Green Beards Juicery, Ranelagh, Raw Foods, Raw Juice, Cold Pressed Juice, Organic Juice, Organic Food, Organic Food Dublin, Organic Food Ireland, Wheatgrass, Ranelagh, Lovin Dublin, Juice Bar Dublin,

When I found it I was quite impressed.  The shop is lovely – clean and bright, with some high tables and stools if you want to sit in to enjoy your juice. The kitchen is right there behind the counter and you can see the fancy hydraulic presses they use to create the juices.

Green Beards Juicery, Ranelagh, Raw Foods, Raw Juice, Cold Pressed Juice, Organic Juice, Organic Food, Organic Food Dublin, Organic Food Ireland, Wheatgrass, Ranelagh, Lovin Dublin, Juice Bar Dublin,

The staff are really friendly and helpful and one of them kindly took me through their menu and offered me a selection of juices to try first before buying.  I had a few sips of different juices, and they were all really fresh and delicious, especially the fiery ginger “shot” that will definitely help you get over any cold or flu!

Green Beards Juicery, Ranelagh, Raw Foods, Raw Juice, Cold Pressed Juice, Organic Juice, Organic Food, Organic Food Dublin, Organic Food Ireland, Wheatgrass, Ranelagh, Lovin Dublin, Juice Bar Dublin, Glass Bottles, Juice Cleanse

Green Beards Juicery, Ranelagh, Raw Foods, Raw Juice, Cold Pressed Juice, Organic Juice, Organic Food, Organic Food Dublin, Organic Food Ireland, Wheatgrass, Ranelagh, Lovin Dublin, Juice Bar Dublin, Glass Bottles, Juice Cleanse

I ended up buying 2 bottles to go – The Beets by Ray with beet, carrot, ginger, lemon and orange, and the Northern Lights, with cucumber, spinach, apple, lemon and kale (I know I’m contradicting myself but it was so delicious!).  Both were really packed full of flavour and very “clean” on the palate, if that makes sense.  You can also buy proper smoothies here as well, and little “shots” of more concentrated mixes like wheatgrass or the ginger one that I tried, if you prefer.

Green Beards Juicery, Ranelagh, Raw Foods, Raw Juice, Cold Pressed Juice, Organic Juice, Organic Food, Organic Food Dublin, Organic Food Ireland, Wheatgrass, Ranelagh, Lovin Dublin, Juice Bar Dublin, Glass Bottles, Juice Cleanse, Kale

Green Beards Juicery, Ranelagh, Raw Foods, Raw Juice, Cold Pressed Juice, Organic Juice, Organic Food, Organic Food Dublin, Organic Food Ireland, Wheatgrass, Ranelagh, Lovin Dublin, Juice Bar Dublin, Glass Bottles, Juice Cleanse, Kale

The juices come in great, old fashioned glass bottles, that can be reused at home. So even though they are priced at €4.50 for a small, and €6.50 for a large, you get more value for money here I think.  They told me that they get most of their organic fruit and veg from the Green Door Market, so it’s nice to see them supporting local organic farmers too.

Green Beards Juicery, Ranelagh, Raw Foods, Raw Juice, Cold Pressed Juice, Organic Juice, Organic Food, Organic Food Dublin, Organic Food Ireland, Wheatgrass, Ranelagh, Lovin Dublin, Juice Bar Dublin, Glass Bottles, Juice Cleanse, Kale

One of these juices kept me going all afternoon instead of a solid lunch, and even fuelled me through a yoga class that evening, so I do think they are a great meal alternative, if you want to give your body an extra boost of nutrition.  Funnily enough, while I was in the store, a woman came in to buy her son the 3 day cleanse plan, because he had read about it and wanted to try it out.  She described him as having “notions” but still bought it for him – that’s mums for you!  So it seems Dublin is really taking to this whole juice trend.  When I was in LA last April, you couldn’t turn a corner without seeing raw kale or similar juices on the menu, so it makes sense that we’re catching up here.

Green Beards Juicery, Ranelagh, Raw Foods, Raw Juice, Cold Pressed Juice, Organic Juice, Organic Food, Organic Food Dublin, Organic Food Ireland, Wheatgrass, Ranelagh, Lovin Dublin, Juice Bar Dublin, Glass Bottles, Juice Cleanse, Kale Green Beards Juicery, Ranelagh, Raw Foods, Raw Juice, Cold Pressed Juice, Organic Juice, Organic Food, Organic Food Dublin, Organic Food Ireland, Wheatgrass, Ranelagh, Lovin Dublin, Juice Bar Dublin, Glass Bottles, Juice Cleanse, Kale

The shelves are also stocked with various healthy bits and pieces if you want to fill your pantry.

Green Beards Juicery, Ranelagh, Raw Foods, Raw Juice, Cold Pressed Juice, Organic Juice, Organic Food, Organic Food Dublin, Organic Food Ireland, Wheatgrass, Ranelagh, Lovin Dublin, Juice Bar Dublin, Glass Bottles, Juice Cleanse, Kale, Hydraulic Juice Press,

So I have to say that Green Beards Juicery thoroughly impressed me and I’ll definitely be going back again when I need a boost of nutritious, delicious juice to my system.  I might not manage their 3 day detox any time soon, but I can say that their juices are well worth the trip to Ranelagh.

Green Beards Juicery

23 Dunville Avenue,

Ranelagh,

Dublin 6

Website

Tel: 01 5588401

 

