Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last week I was on a flying visit to Dun Laoghaire, but I couldn’t resist having a very quick trip down to the People’s Park to check out the new branch of Fallon & Byrne.

IMG_6512

I am a HUGE fan of Fallon & Byrne on Exchequer street – if you’re a fellow foodie in Dublin no doubt you are too.

IMG_6490

In Exchequer Street they have a gastronomic emporium that spans 4 floors with a wonderful wine cellar, extensive speciality supermarket, excellent butcher, fish monger, deli and cheese counters, an affordable casual lunch and cafe area, a sophisticated restaurant upstairs and even a fabulous function room on the top floor which often holds formal events like weddings and launches.

IMG_6494

Their staff is brilliant and always happy to help you find something obscure tucked away on one of the many shelves. Whenever I’m in town I tend to pop in for at least one thing that I can’t get anywhere else. When I used to work around the corner I relied heavily on their soup and sandwich deals at lunchtime and their coffee (made with organic milk) to keep me going from work into college – those were long days!!

IMG_6498 IMG_6576

So you can imagine my excitement at the thought of them opening a second branch out in Dun Laoghaire. They have been working hard to renovate the existing Victorian Pavilion building that overlooks the People’s Park, with a beautiful view of the sea and the rest of Dublin Bay as a gorgeous backdrop.

IMG_6591 IMG_6592

The day that I visited it was especially frosty and crisp and indeed I nearly slipped a few times strolling around the lovely park. But you couldn’t have asked for a better Winter’s day to take it all in.

IMG_6498 IMG_6528

This place will be kept very, very busy come Spring and Summer. It is the ideal spot to relax and enjoy a wonderful meal made with the best quality Irish ingredients, with an extensive wine list to wash it all down – plus a view to die for!

IMG_6562

IMG_6565

I probably caught them at one of the worst times between breakfast and lunch – when all of the staff were working furiously to get the place in ship-shape! But the light was so glorious that day that I couldn’t resist taking some photos of the restaurant. I’m looking forward to coming back soon to have a proper meal – no doubt I’ll write about that here too. They are now serving food all day, with breakfast, lunch, afternoon, dinner and early bird menus to choose from, you are spoilt for choice!

IMG_6569

This branch seems to be focusing more on the restaurant than the Exchequer Street one, so there is no grocery store or deli counter. But you can order great coffee or other specialty hot drinks, and enjoy them outside on the Pavilion terrace overlooking the park.

IMG_6553

They also have a small selection of their gourmet sandwiches to go and a few different cheeses and cured meats – if you fancy picking up some ingredients for dinner or getting a tasty lunch to take away.  Like I said it was only a flying visit, so I just ordered a cappuccino and one of their flaky chocolate twist pastries.  They were delicious as always!

IMG_6582

There is also a selection of their handmade artisan breads for sale. If they are anything like the ones in the other branch, which are excellent quality and value for money, then I will be stocking up any time I pass.

IMG_6556

There is a generous seating area outside the restaurant with dusky blue tables and chairs.

IMG_6583 IMG_6550

It’s obvious that a lot of work and love has gone into this restoration and it will be a welcome addition to Dun Laoghaire with its nod to traditional décor and Victorian splendour that was once the norm here. This area will no doubt be even more popular when the weather warms up a bit.

IMG_6535

I quickly scoffed my pastry and sipped my coffee before my bum froze off! If you’re a smoker you’ll be more than happy to sit out here during your meal and enjoy the panoramic view of Dublin Bay.  The rest of us will be happy to join you!

IMG_6545

If you’re a fan of the original Fallon & Byrne, or you just love great food and fancy a trip to one of Dublin’s loveliest Victorian parks, then I urge you to take a trip down here soon. Come the warmer weather, this place will be teaming with life, and I can’t wait to visit on a Sunday when the farmer’s market will be out in full force too. Dun Laoghaire just got a whole lot more appealing!

Fallon & Byrne website

Twitter

Facebook

Email: peoplespark@fallonandbyrne.com

Telephone: +353 1 230 3300

 

 

 

 

