Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Eathos has been open for a few months but I hadn’t gotten around to eating lunch there until recently. Their window is full of the most beautiful, freshest looking handmade cakes, pastries and tarts and they serve organic milk in their coffee so I immediately gave them a few points. Eathos, Dublin, Restaurants Dublin, Baggot Street, Irish Food, Irish Restaurants, Baggot Street Restaurants, Lunch, Dublin Lunch,

Their menu also features plenty of Irish artisan food producers like Toonsbridge Farm, The Firehouse Bakery and Cuinneog Butter, so the quality of the food is high.

Eathos, Dublin, Restaurants Dublin, Baggot Street, Irish Food, Irish Restaurants, Baggot Street Restaurants, Lunch, Dublin Lunch, Irish Food Producers, Gelnishk, Toonsbridge, Cuinneog,

I had tried some delicious cakes and coffee but I hadn’t tried their lunch menu. Most of the food is displayed out on the counter when you come in and you can see how fresh and colourful it looks.

Eathos, Dublin, Restaurants Dublin, Baggot Street, Irish Food, Irish Restaurants, Baggot Street Restaurants, Lunch, Dublin Lunch,

Eathos, Dublin, Restaurants Dublin, Baggot Street, Irish Food, Irish Restaurants, Baggot Street Restaurants, Lunch, Dublin Lunch,

Eathos, Dublin, Restaurants Dublin, Baggot Street, Irish Food, Irish Restaurants, Baggot Street Restaurants, Lunch, Dublin Lunch, Cakes, Pastries, Meringues, Pastisserie Dublin

The menu isn’t cheap, (it’s priced at €9 for two salads or €14.50 if you add a “protein” i.e. chicken, fish or beef, and it goes up to €16.50 for three salads and a protein) so unless you have a big budget for lunch, I think this would be more a treat than a place to eat every day. But it was well worth the trip, let me tell you!

Eathos, Dublin, Restaurants Dublin, Baggot Street, Irish Food, Irish Restaurants, Baggot Street Restaurants, Lunch, Dublin Lunch,

I brought Mr. Cooksalot in with me for a late lunch to avoid the rush. There was still plenty of food left to choose from, but the place wasn’t too full. I love the clean white design with the pops of bright colours from the plates and dishes. For a small space, they have done a great job at making it seem bright and airy. They also have a sort of conservatory area at the back with even more light.

Eathos, Dublin, Restaurants Dublin, Baggot Street, Irish Food, Irish Restaurants, Baggot Street Restaurants, Lunch, Dublin Lunch,

We both ordered two salads and a protein. I went for a spiced and chargrilled chicken breast (I think it was sort of North African inspired). I also ordered the heirloom beetroot and crispy kale salad, and a purple potato salad with a tahini dressing (I’m loving tahini inspired stuff at the moment).

Eathos, Dublin, Restaurants Dublin, Baggot Street, Irish Food, Irish Restaurants, Baggot Street Restaurants, Lunch, Dublin Lunch, Salads, Fresh Food,

Mr. Cooksalot ordered a breaded harissa chicken thigh and a red rice, quinoa, pistachio and orange salad, plus a crunchy green bean salad.

Eathos, Dublin, Restaurants Dublin, Baggot Street, Irish Food, Irish Restaurants, Baggot Street Restaurants, Lunch, Dublin Lunch, Salads, Fresh Food,

Both of our plates were as colourful as can be. I really think when food is presented to you like this, with so much effort to make it look beautiful, and more importantly when it’s made with care and attention, then you can’t help but get excited! As I’ve said, I’m not normally a salad person, but I could happily eat these kind of salads every day. Each ingredient was cooked perfectly.

Eathos, Dublin, Restaurants Dublin, Baggot Street, Irish Food, Irish Restaurants, Baggot Street Restaurants, Lunch, Dublin Lunch,

The vegetables were either juicy and crunchy, or tender and baked to bring out their natural sweetness. The two different chicken dishes were both delicious, with the right amount of spice and seasoning. I made sure to taste Mr. Cooksalot’s plate and it was as good as mine. I especially liked his quinoa salad. Eathos also have a special water filter system – you can order an unlimited supply their triple filtered water for €2 for the table. This would work out better value for a group. It wouldn’t make much sense if you were eating alone.

IMG_3529

Mr. Cooksalot had to get back to the office, so I stayed on and ordered a cappuccino and a pastry -a raspberry, pistachio and white chocolate tart. It was divine! The flavours were so wonderful – it felt like I had been transported to a patisserie in Paris.

I loved this lunch in Eathos and I’m looking forward to going back again soon. It’s definitely treat territory, as it adds up quickly. Our bill came to €39.50 for 2, including my tart and coffee. They also serve breakfast Monday to Friday and they have a special brunch menu on Saturday, which I’m dying to try out. The food is obviously made with a lot of care and love, which I think you can always taste. If you feel like treating yourself, go try it out.

